The Rex Baxter Building on the Tri-State Fairgrounds was the proving grounds for the monster Tri-State Open Chili Championship out in Amarillo this past weekend.

There were 126 separate recipes from dozens of chili cooks determined to bring home the bacon, and receive an automatic invitation to the Terlingua International Chili Championship taking place in the Fall. No word on whether Terry or Dory Funk showed up with a big kettle of Texas Red and a baseball bat wrapped with barbed wire.

2014 Winners

1. Brandy Reid Hobbs, N.M.

2. Devin Kuhn Amarillo

3. Bruce Steward Hurst, Texas

4. Tony Valentine Amarillo

5. Shannon Carrick Amarillo

6. Tim Collier Snyder

7. Connie Collier Snyder

8. Dexter Spalding Amarillo

9. Margarett Lopez Pampa

10. Tom Noe Wichita Falls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>